Catholic Schools

31 Aug

Are Catholic schools closing due to taxation and population loss, as Jim O. claims? Possibly, that’s true.

Or are they closing because of a decline in congregations throughout the country due, in part, to the truly egregious and unforgivable scandal of priests abusing little innocent boys, and not only getting away with it, but having the behavior tacitly encouraged by a Church that would merely shuttle deviant priests from parish to parish?

My family is nominally Catholic, but we were never relgious for a variety of reasons. I don’t even think I can call myself Catholic, since I was never confirmed, never had communion (but was Baptised, FWIW). But I used to be able to join Catholic friends in Church for certain occasions, like Easter & Christmas services and go along. I can’t do that anymore. I am so sickened by a secretive heirarchy that not only permitted pedophilia to happen, but denied it while it was rampant throughout the church, that I find it physically repulsing now.

Contribute To The Conversation

