One Sunset & City Councilmen

17 Feb

Why did One Sunset – Leonard Stokes’ short-lived restaurant at W Delevan and Delaware fail so quickly, defaulting on loads of public business incentive loans? Why did City Councilman Brian Davis pay $3600 in rent for the restaurant with money he didn’t have, bouncing the check to landlord Kevin Brinkworth?

As Artvoice points out,

One Sunset managed to fail so quickly and completely, despite $80,000 in loans from BERC (now in default), another $50,000 in loans from ECIDA (possibly in default, too, though I have not been able to confirm this), a $20,000 community development block grant to overhaul the facade, and a lot of good press

Davis doesn’t disclose any financial or business interest in One Sunset in any public filings, so it’s curious that he’d bother to bounce a rent check on the defunct restaurant’s behalf. No?

5 Responses to “One Sunset & City Councilmen”

  1. eliz February 17, 2009 at 8:23 pm #

    Geoff will get all this info for you, BP.

  2. Tuco February 17, 2009 at 9:19 pm #

    Just bring the “Locker Room” name back to the building, and all will be right with the world!

  3. Terry February 17, 2009 at 11:20 pm #

    Ha..I worked in The Locker Room back in the day…even have a Locker Room print hanging in my bedroom…be that as it may, there is alot of sh*t going on here that will never see the light of day in terms of the press, eh?

    Hey BP—ever eat there?

  4. Prodigal-Son February 18, 2009 at 6:23 pm #

    Three months after it opened, I tried to buy a gift certificate as a christmas gift for some friends. They couldn’t figure out how to get me a gift certificate. I tried to give them my money, and they were too incompetant to know how to take it.

    If they were that bad in all business dealings, I’m not surprised its closed.

  5. ryan February 19, 2009 at 11:09 am #

    I tried to eat there once, but Davis and his posse walked in while I was having a pre-dinner cocktail. I lost my appetite and left.

Contribute To The Conversation