Hi There. My name is Buffalopundit

29 Aug

Heersit

Wow, that sucked.

Sometime on Sunday evening, something happened to all of the WNYMedia.net sites. I don’t speak fluent php and I’m not that tech savvy, but let’s just say we broked teh internets.

Given the emergency situation and the fact that they all have actual day jobs, I have to hand it to the WNYMedia.net ninjas for getting the sites back up so fast. In sum, I believe there was only one comment left in the afternoon of Sunday, and it’s gone now and I apologize for that, but this is the only way we could restore the sites.

6 Responses to “Hi There. My name is Buffalopundit”

  1. Administrator August 29, 2007 at 5:06 am #

    Our traffic simply overwhelmed our server and it took some time to get the whole thing back online. The details of this process, the hows, the whys. the whats are inconsequential and tedious.

    We are shopping for a new hosting company. If anyone has suggestions or recommendations, please let us know.

    We currently use Dreamhost as our hosting provider and we require the following:

    Monthly Bandwidth: 3GB (Burstable to 6GB)
    Disk Space: 750GB

    I can specify our other requirements in an email…

  2. Jim Ostrowski August 29, 2007 at 8:49 pm #

    “Perseverance and spirit have done wonders in all ages.”

  3. Jim Ostrowski August 29, 2007 at 8:50 pm #

    Sorry, that was GW.

  4. Cindyk August 29, 2007 at 10:12 pm #

    “Our traffic simply overwhelmed our server”

    Kewl! Having down blogs does have it’s advantages, huh? 😉

  5. Jon Splett August 29, 2007 at 10:44 pm #

    I applaud your use of LOLCats.

  6. Cindyk August 29, 2007 at 11:34 pm #

    Jon, we were the Zapped Cat. 😉 (lol)

Contribute To The Conversation